Practicing Christians often wonder how they will fully participate in Holy Communion if they cannot eat the bread or wafer (host).
The Catholic Church in particular is rooted in Scripture and Tradition. In keeping with the belief that Jesus used wheaten bread at the Last Supper, the Church has required that breads used for communion be made with wheat and contain gluten.
Thanks to the research of the Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration, a company was found that produces wheat starch, which is wheat that has had most of its gluten removed. After much trial-and-error, the Benedictine Sisters were able to make low-gluten bread out of this special wheat starch and water. The gluten content is only .01%, or 100 PPM (parts per million). But it is the 37 micrograms that is significant, because the best current information shows that 10 milligrams per day should be safe.
The low-gluten wafers are made, stored, and shipped in a dedicated gluten-free environment. Best of all, these wafers meet both the stringent requirements of the Catholic Church as well as the requirements of the gluten-free community, as confirmed by data from the Center for Celiac Research.
You can order 20 wafers for $5.15, plus shipping and handling by calling 800-223-2772 or visiting their website.
Does YOUR church -- whether Catholic or a Protestant denomination -- already offer gluten-free communion wafers? If so, please help other Celiacs find out by submitting a "review" to our sister website, GlutenFreeTravelSite. It's a website with thousands of gluten-free dining and travel reviews, and we are anxious to help get the word out about "GF-friendly" churches, in addition to the reviews of restaurants, hotels/resorts, grocery stores, and cruises we have on our site. Once your "review" is posted, visitors to our site who are searching that particular geographic area will see your church listed. Please help your church -- and us -- spread the word!